Agricultural Town of the Year

Winner Announced
2023 Agricultural Town of the Year

2023 Ag Town of the Year Winner


“It is clear to see why the town is affectionately known as ‘wonderful Wudinna’, with its leadership in the agriculture sector complemented by strong community support,”

“The Wudinna community is to be commended for its resilience, its track record of using the ‘good times’ to prepare for the ‘bad’ by putting together strategic plans and for leading from the front to leverage its natural advantages to address challenges.”

Hon. Clare Scriven – Minister for Primary Industries, Regional Development, Forest Industries


The Agricultural Town of the Year Award, proudly presented by the Government of South Australia and Solstice Media, highlights the vital role that agriculture plays in the regional landscape – being the backbone of most regional communities.

Introduced as a new award in 2019, the Agricultural Town of the Year award recognises South Australian towns that are excelling in agricultural practices and the flow on effect they have on communities.

The program endeavours to provide an avenue where communities can learn from one another which will play a role in building capacity and increasing growth in regional South Australia.

Download the complete program guide below.


Stage 1: Nominate a town

8 May – 5 June 2023

Nominations open.

Read more information >

Stage 2: Vote for a town

13 – 28 June 2023

Nominated towns will be shortlisted and public voting opens.

Read more information >

Stage 3: Top 10 towns

3 July – 11 August 2023

Top 10 towns will be announced and submission and judging process follows. An independent panel of judges will determine top three finalist towns.

Read more information >

Stage 4: Town visits

25 – 29 September 2023

What to expect if your town is shortlisted: Ag Town of the Year finalist town visits and submissions will be judged by an independent panel.

Read more information >

Stage 5: 2023 Ag Town of the Year Announced

9 November 2023

Announcement of the winner at the Regional Showcase Awards celebration.

Read more information >

Stage 6: Town Celebration Event


The winning town celebration event will be held in collaboration with PIRSA.

Read more information >

Keep up to date with the latest regional news and event updates by subscribing to InDaily below.